Will the image quality degrade over time?

papajaypapajay Registered Users Posts: 441 Major grins
edited June 1, 2006 in SmugMug Support
I'm relatively new to Smugmug, and am putting substantial time and effort into uploading my jpg images, creating galleries, etc. My intention was/is to use Smugmug as my primary image library "for all time".

I've recently learned (to my chagrin) using another site that the good quality jpg images I originally sent appear hideous on the site...I'm told this is the nature of jpg images over time (that they "degrade" a bit each time the file is accessed).

Is that going to happen with my jpg images that I've uploaded to Smugmug? Or am I worried about a "non-problem" here? Does smugmug convert the jpg file into another file type for long-term storage? Will the gallery quality be as good next year as it is this year regardless of how many visitors or "viewings" there are on my site?

My camera does not shoot RAW (can you even upload RAW or TIFF files to Smugmug?? or do they have to be JPG anyway??)

If the effort it takes to upload, caption, crop, adjust, and add keywords etc to my jpg images all goes for naught because the image quality on Smugmug degrades over time due to visits from people I didn't even invite to view my galleries, I'm going to be....well...upset, and disappointed.

Please tell me I haven't made a huge mistake...I'm hoping Smugmug truly lives up to my initial impression of it being the end-all, be-all solution I wanted as a disorganized, frustrated home photographer.

Papajay (papajay.smugmug.com)

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited May 31, 2006
    papajay wrote:
    Or am I worried about a "non-problem" here?

nod.gif You're worrying about a non-problem :D

Your originals remain untouched by us, in the same condition as when you upload them.

And the resized copies we make for display (-L, -M, etc) were recently improved, read here: