b/w LAB workflows?

asamuelasamuel Registered Users Posts: 451 Major grins
edited June 2, 2006 in Finishing School
Dear all

I am new to digital photography. and spanking to PS. Just installed CS2. Reading Mr. Margulis, reading about Raw, I want to hit it head on. Problem is I get confused with the work flows. Case in point;

Doing tutorials on DG. I like the B/W tutorial (has helped me), but it doesn't work if I mix it up with LAB, the color mixer disappears.

So a) stick with RGB for B/W?

or b) is their another workflow I've missed that makes BW in LAB?

just feel as though Im playing with a big twisted up ball of string or a rubix cube in the dark (with my hands cut off).

thank you.

p.s. dropped my camera today and knackered a lense so please be kind if my question is boring:uhoh
where's the cheese at?

http://www.samuelbedford.com

Comments

• flyingdutchieflyingdutchie Registered Users Posts: 1,286 Major grins
    edited June 2, 2006
    asamuel wrote:
    Dear all

I am new to digital photography. and spanking to PS. Just installed CS2. Reading Mr. Margulis, reading about Raw, I want to hit it head on. Problem is I get confused with the work flows. Case in point;

Doing tutorials on DG. I like the B/W tutorial (has helped me), but it doesn't work if I mix it up with LAB, the color mixer disappears.

So a) stick with RGB for B/W?

or b) is their another workflow I've missed that makes BW in LAB?

just feel as though Im playing with a big twisted up ball of string or a rubix cube in the dark (with my hands cut off).

thank you.

p.s. dropped my camera today and knackered a lense so please be kind if my question is boring:uhoh

You can do B&W in L*a*b mode, but i won't recommend it.
    Best is to use the Channel Mixer in RGB mode. Then you can choose how much of each channel (R and/or G and/or B) you'll use for each B&W pic.

But if you want to do B&W in LAB:
    - Use Curves.
    - Go to the a channel. Flatten the curve completely (make horizontal) halfway.