Options

Desperately Seeking Help

sara505sara505 Registered Users Posts: 1,684 Major grins
edited June 13, 2006 in Technique
Greetings. Please help. I've been using a 10-D for a couple of years, and about six months ago bought a 430ex. I've been photographing for over thirty years. I went into the digital age kicking and screaming, but there's no going back at this point. I have mostly embraced it. I Love many things about it, but I am getting inconsistent results with my 10-D, especially with flash. Oy vay. And in my opinion, no matter how good the images look on the screen (to see my work, go to www.sarapiazza.com), if I can't get a good print--get this stuff out of the computer and into frames and books--it's all useless. I don't know if it's in the shooting or in post-production, or perhaps even my monitor settings,but here's what's happening: I am using a soft box on the 430; Large, fine, usually shooting on P, or AV or TV. Indoors, at a recent bat mitzvah, and at a party the other night, the unprocessed images look dull and lifeless, on the dark side (more so on my Edgartown computer, brighter on my Brookline lap top). I hit autolevels and sometimes they clear up into a fine looking image, but sometimes they become harsh with a green tinge, in these cases I go to levels to lighten, then boost the contrast. On the bat mitzvah images I used levels to lighten--alot!--and added contrast. The prints for the girl's album were acceptable, not great. At a recent outdoor wedding (see Erica and Scott), the flash fill was inadequate, imo. Many of the prints were on the dark side.
The frustrating thing for me is, the results are inconsistent. Sometimes the results are gorgeous, other times very disappointing. And with people counting on me, I'm basically freaking out. I never had these problems with my old Elan, 540ez, and Fuji Reala--always gorgeous results! Sorry to be so long, any help is gratefully appreciated. Thank you.

Comments

• Options