"Da Bros": Idea, Execution, Workflow, Final Image

elfving73elfving73 Registered Users Posts: 941 Major grins
edited June 27, 2006 in Finishing School
[Disclamier: I'm lousy at doing "tutorials", and I'm no pro on photograhpy or pp what so ever, so if anything seems weird or wrong or just plain dumb, please inform me! If you wonder something that isn't explained please let me know and I'll add it to the "turorial" ]

A little background to the Idea:
When I went out to take these pictures I had no plans, just went out by chance. I was primarily going there to check up on the photo potential of the Industrial estate. It all begun when I was throwing paper for recycling one day and found a commercial catalogue from Fornarina. It was lavish and very extravagant and the mega high quality pictures on thick paper was absolutely blowing me away. It featured a beautiful (ok, let's be straight - very hot and sexy) woman doing commercial for women’s clothing and accessories on a garbage dump in a desert somewhere. I've never seen anything like it (in print at least) and I instantly felt that "WOW! That's what I want to do!" Well, that's not going to happen I guess, but that doesn't stop me from using their style for inspiration. So, my basic idea was to find a rather - how to explain - harsh? but still interesting environment to use for a shoot with a good looking women, trying to get that "commercial for women’s clothing and accessories a´la Fornarina"-feel. So, that's where the basic idea that got me out in the middle of the night came from.

Taking the pictures: