Dr. Strangelove...

mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
edited June 27, 2006 in Finishing School
...Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love RAW.

Hi. My name is Bill. And I'm a recovering JPG-aholic. I used to shoot almost exclusively JPG. I was afraid of the workflow that 1,200 RAW files per race would impose upon me. And most event photographers shoot JPG anyway. And this biz needs to be fast more than it needs to be of utmost quality. Then I got a 1-series and I shot RAW until I learned the ins and outs of the JPG settings on that camera. Then I started shooting night races. The conditions caused havoc on the exposure metering and white balance settings. RAW started becoming more of a requirement for those conditions. Daylight was easy, night racing was not. Vapor lights are not my friend.

Enter Photo Mechanic to my rescue. If I had to use Bridge to sort through all these RAW files I would have given up by now. There is a lot of good advice in Peter Krogh's "The DAM Book", but I do not agree with his endorsement of Bridge. In my mind its only viable when you are dealing with a relatively small number of files. Photo Mechanic seems to handle large number of files very quickly. It allows me to import, re-name and append metadata all in one operation. And I can send files to a Photoshop droplet to batch items. Its also the only browser I've seen that works intelligently in a RAW+JPG operation. There appears to be a reason why so many photojournalists love that software.

I think if I had not discovered Photo Mechanic I'd be going crazy over this many RAW files. However, if I could get consistent night exposures I'm not sure I would have ever gone down the path either.