Options

A funny thing happened to me on my way to work today ...

NirNir Registered Users Posts: 1,400 Major grins
edited November 19, 2004 in Holy Macro
Well, not really on my way to work - I was on my way to the framing shop to pickup a photo I gave to frame.
Anyway, the framing woman left a note on the door "I will be right back" so I had time to take a few photos. And what do I have on my mind? Humor obviously!

I saw this great sign in the upper left corner of the frame:

11215576-M.jpg
Now either I need to start taking pictures elsewhere, or you guys need to learn to read Hebrew.:lol
The sign says:
"Once there was an ENGRAVER sign here
but the municipality began charging taxes so I removed it".

I found the sign humorous and framed it with the engraver's shop. I waited a few seconds for the man with the haircut (:ear ) to step into the frame.

After I shot the photo he asked if he should smile. I told him I smiled when I saw the sign. Then he asked if I was a photographer? I pulled my shoulders back, straightened my posture and said "yes!". He asked if I wanted to visit his studio. The framing lady hadn't returned yet so I said "why not". It turns out his name is Rakia and he is a painter (50 years!). His work can be seen at http://www.israelartguide.co.il/davidgallery/david/dcatalog.html. I got a private tour of his studio, his work, and paintings he is preparing for an exhibition next week at the Jerusalem Artists House.

In the mean time the framing lady got back, I picked up my beautiful photo very elegantly framed and set back home. This photo was actually purchased by my wife as a gift but I think we will both have a hard time parting with it (maybe we will begin looking for another gift:rofl ). If I had better lighting conditions perhaps I could display it in a way that would do justice to it. But I don't and I do want to show you guys it's elegance -

11215577-M.jpg