Newbie of all Newbie Questions?

cokekillercokekiller Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited July 3, 2006 in SmugMug Support
disclaimer: I am completely new at this and the newbie of all newbies. :-) I am the most basic user, share pics with family and print 4x6's.

I am very new to this. I have been reading (help and here) up trying to figure out the best workflow to post my photos.

My pics come out of my camera at 2304x1712 at 72 ppi

1st size (I will prob only be printing 4x6):
After reading through the help files, smugmug reall seems to push the fact that I don't need to upload my giant files from my camera. on this page it says longest side to 1500 px and save at .jpg quality of 8, 9 or 10.
http://www.smugmug.com/help/photo-storage

Sooo, I resized my pics to 1600x1200 (this seemed a good even ratio) at 72 ppi and saved as jpg 8. This seemed to give me fairly quick upload time and enough resolution (hopefully) for my 4x6's...

However in this post I read today Andy says:
http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=30347&highlight=color+effects
"I recommend loading your FULL files, all the pixels. Do not resize - counterintuitively, smaller prints need more res to print great, they are subject to much closer scrutiny than the biggest of big prints."

So I am a bit confused. I know the size vs resolution vs megapixel vs ppi vs dpi vs psd vs tif vs raw vs .jpg 10 vs .jpg 8 is crazy. I think maybe I missed something somewhere trying to understand it all. There is good info in help but it seems to be scattered around a bit...

Second is about photo correction and sharpening...
Since this I find is also a HUGE topic, keep in mind I am a dumb dumb beginner. Since I don't really know how to do this, I picked SmugMug b/c of the mention that they when I printed they would use the I2e with the auto color option picked. This would probably make my crappy beginner crap pics look somewhat presentable. Yay!