Best free/cheap photo cataloging software?

TristanPTristanP Registered Users Posts: 1,107 Major grins
edited October 5, 2006 in Finishing School
I'm just starting out in race/event photography and after trying to go through hundreds of pics of motorcycles, I need a way to assign tags and catalog them so I don't need to search entire folders of pics manually to see if a certain rider is there.

I use Windows XP and PS CS. I shoot in RAW for the moment. I also have access to CS2 but haven't installed it yet. Is something like Picasa the way to go or are there better options for little or no $?
panekfamily.smugmug.com (personal)
tristansphotography.com (motorsports)

Canon 20D | 10-22 | 17-85 IS | 50/1.4 | 70-300 IS | 100/2.8 macro
Sony F717 | Hoya R72

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited July 6, 2006
    TristanP wrote:
    I'm just starting out in race/event photography and after trying to go through hundreds of pics of motorcycles, I need a way to assign tags and catalog them so I don't need to search entire folders of pics manually to see if a certain rider is there.

I use Windows XP and PS CS. I shoot in RAW for the moment. I also have access to CS2 but haven't installed it yet. Is something like Picasa the way to go or are there better options for little or no $?
    Adobe Bridge, part of the Creative Suite you already have.

Get "Real World Camera RAW" by Bruce Fraser to go along with it.
  • AnthonyAnthony Registered Users Posts: 149 Major grins
    edited July 6, 2006
    TristanP wrote:

As you are a windows user, you might take a look at idImager - idfoxxx.com - there is a 21 day trial - see if you like it. I do.

Anthony.
  • cmasoncmason Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited July 6, 2006
    TristanP wrote:

Use RawShooter Essentials. It is free and a great RAW editor/converter.

http://www.pixmantec.com/

(yes Adobe just bought them, but Essentials will remain)