Greetings from a newbie

jtf6agentjtf6agent Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited July 12, 2006 in People
Hi all. Stumbled across this site while searching tips on bettering my portfolio. Haven't finished exploring the entire site yet but, it does look fun. Just so you know I am a self taught photog. I currently string for a local paper here in San Diego. I've been with them for over a year now and have done fairly well. I will be enrolling in NYIP hopefull before the end of summer. I figure if I have made it this far with teaching myself, imagine what I am capable of if some who knew what they were doing taught me. I bought a Nikon D70 read the manual..err uhh sort of read the manual (I'm not that smart) I bought a how to on the Nikon D70 and went from there. I was tossed from a local pro hockey game because my "lens" was too big. Yeah, I'm still tying to figure that one out. They said I had to be with the press to shoot a camera that nice in the arena. I thought about that one for a couple of days then decided to find out what it took to be a "Press" photographer. I contacted the local paper and set up an interview. With porfolio in hand I was hired that day. My first assignement made the front page and I have been on a roll ever since. Personally, I think I suck and get lucky quite often. I take enough shots of a subject that odds are one of them has to come out. I decided to hit the net and improve. I managed upon a site about a year ago and it has helped tremendously. I found this one today and it's similar to the other and decided to up the odds. So...

Hello everyone!!

Comments

• BakatBakat Registered Users Posts: 155 Major grins
    edited July 11, 2006
    clap.gifclapWELCOME!clap.gifclap
    clap.gifclapclap.gifclapclap.gifclapclap.gif
    "Photography is not a sport. It has no rules"
    Bill Brandt
  • rosselliotrosselliot Registered Users Posts: 702 Major grins
    edited July 11, 2006
    why hello,

how are you?