Options

Telling the story...

ChuckMChuckM Registered Users Posts: 53 Big grins
edited July 19, 2006 in Technique
I'm relatively new to photography. The biggest critique I hear so far is about the picture "not telling a story". I think it is a very valid criticism.

The things I tend to photograph are things I like. "Oh, I like airplanes, I'll take a picture of that one", "that scene is pretty, I'll take a picture". Until now, my focus has been on technical execution. I have realized I need to improve my "story telling" to really make my shots sing. The shot can be technically perfect but it will be boring as hell if the composition is bad.

Any tips for developing my creative eye?

As an exercise... I am going to try to spend more time taking picture of things that don't necessarily interest me. I figure if I WORK to find an interesting image to capture, it should help develop my eye.

Thought from the pros?

Comments

• Options
    Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited July 18, 2006
    Rewire your brain
    It sounds silly, but once I felt like I had the technicals down, I switched my focus mentally by giving myself the goal for the year to "be more artistic". That was my new mantra and I repeated it often. I would tell people my goal this year is to me more artistic. I tried to keep that thought in my head as much as possible.

I think it worked in rewiring my brain. I still am on the same goal and don't think I will ever "graduate" mwink.gif

But it did help me break free from the technical side of things. I even have started having fun posting non-perfect photos in an attempt to tork-off the techno-shooters hehehe.