Options

From birds to furniture. Advice needed.

Dick on ArubaDick on Aruba Registered Users Posts: 3,484 Major grins
edited August 2, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
An interior design and furniture store approached me to take a photo session to post on their “web site to be”.

They know me from my non-pro nature photography and they’re well aware that I’m not experienced in doing that kind of photography. While I have not a well sorted portfolio and just “dump” (more or less) my pictures on my SmugMug account, they were impressed enough to ask me.

I took some test shots on location to see if I can deal with the lightning and they were very pleased with the results. To be honest, I was pleased too (considering what I usually shoot) and they asked for a quotation. :wink

Now, as a Good Samaritan I approached some local photographers to look for some advice about the prices. I let them know that I’m not a professional like they are, but I don’t wand to spoil the marked with prices that are way too low. You must know that Aruba is a very small Island.

Somehow they refuse to help me with the pricing but were very eager to see my test prints (which I did not show). My efforts to work with them instead of against them did not give any results. :dunno

Well, if this is the case, I try to figure it out myself. :boidConsidering I don’t have any overhead but don’t wand to be too cheap, I came up with the following:

* $750,00 fixed fee per (fraction of a) day to be on location to take photographs.

* $375,00 fixed fee per 50 photographs (rounded up) So 35 = 50, 60 = 100. Figuring I need ½ day to PP about 50 shots.

Do you think I’m going out of my mind here?

Dick.
"Nothing sharpens sight like envy."
Thomas Fuller.

SmugMug account.
Website.

Comments

• Options
    JimMJimM Registered Users Posts: 1,389 Major grins
    edited July 18, 2006
    Hi Dick,

First off, is Aruba US dollars? Usually we'd write that as $750.00 or just $750, so I thought I'd ask.