Keywording with Privacy for Dummies

papajaypapajay Registered Users Posts: 441 Major grins
edited November 12, 2007 in SmugMug Support
{EDITING NOTE*---after initially posting this, reply posts #6,7 SIGNIFICANTLY alter it's applicability, but you may benefit from the thread dialogue anyway, especially dmc's #4 reply post.}

I've come up with a "Keywording (with Privacy) for Dummies" with Power User accounts. I'm no techie, so I needed something simple. Since galleries must be PUBLIC in order to use keywords, concerns regarding privacy continue to trouble me, and there seems to be little anyone at Smugmug can say other than "wish we could fix it" and "we feel your pain"....(this is not a dig at you, Andy...just an unfortunate reality I'm finally accepting...there just doesn't appear to be enough user feedback to make it a priority...I "get it" now).

Here's a way to "trick" the system that has been working rather nicely for me...I've embedded a unique alpha numeric "password" with all my keywords. The keyword "windmill", as an example another Dgrin poster recently referenced, brings up over 1300 pictures. But adding something like "3pw4x" to the keyword makes it unique...."windmill3pw4x". Okay, so it's a bit "cluggie"..who cares?...try it, it works! Just come up with your own keyword "password" and enjoy the powerful functionality keywording presents without fear of having your family photos plastered all over the internet.

Now, if Smugmug would enhance the BULK Keywording utility to include an "Append" function, one could simply enter all keywords spelled "normally" (windmill), and the select the "Append" function to add "3pw4x" on the back end of all the keywords you just entered. Done!

The only other thing you have to do to keep your secret "code" from being discovered is HIDE keywords on your site using #photoKeywords {display: none;} on the CSS optional stylesheet page in your control panel.

Comments

• DnaDna Registered Users Posts: 435 Major grins