New guy and some bike questions.

Terry66Terry66 Registered Users Posts: 36 Big grins
edited July 28, 2006 in Sports
Hey guys...New guy to the forums...thought I would share a few assorted images from this year and ask a question....I am shooting my first AMA race at Mid-Ohio in a couple of weeks and I was wondering what is the lens of choice with the more experienced guys? I shoot Mid-Ohio on a regular basis, but given the size of the bikes, I was wondering if a 400L is long enough?

Thanks and on to the images...

rolex4.jpg

9201web.jpg

usgp17.jpg

Comments

• F45F45 Registered Users Posts: 225 Major grins
    edited July 27, 2006
    Terry66 wrote:
    I was wondering what is the lens of choice with the more experienced guys? I shoot Mid-Ohio on a regular basis, but given the size of the bikes, I was wondering if a 400L is long enough?
    Hi Terry66,

Welcome to the forum! There is quite a bit to be learned from these guys here on Digital Grin.

I'm relatively new to motorsports but I'll chuck in my observations thus far...
    Most of the pro photogs I've seen and spoken with use either the 500 F4 L or 300 2.8 L and keep 1.4 tele with them at all times! I use a 400 2.8 L myself with a 1.4 tele and it probably goes without saying that almost everyone has the 70-200 2.8 L for it's flexibilty and convenience. Nikon equilvalents in other cases of course.

Every lens on the market is a little too short for something and a bit too long for something else! Working the angles with whatever your comfortable with (both physically and financially) will help you decide on the glass for YOUR needs.

I hope that's food for thought!

Your images are very compelling and I love the colors. I'll throw in some constructive critisism here so as to offer something of more value...