Options

A question of time.

Jeanne MarieJeanne Marie Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
edited August 5, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
Hi everyone,

I need some advice on time.

I’ve been retouching now for several years and just recently moved to NYC. The retouching I did was with Lifetouch National School Studios and I was not permitted to use any of their images in my portfolio. In looking for work, I have to present a great portfolio, so that’s what I’m trying to build up now. But I’ve come to an interesting dilemma. How long should fashion and glamour retouching take?

At Lifetouch we had to work fast on the basics. With thousands of images coming through my department every day no more that a few minutes could be spent on each image. Unless it was sever damage, like a film rip or processor damage, or the photographer shot all of the short boys standing on a soap box for their prom pictures. (no, I'm not kidding, lol)

Now I find myself spending hours on one image :huh. It seems excessive, but I know that’s what employers are looking for ... a perfect retouching job.

But I don’t want to be misleading or get myself into a spot where I’ve created unreasonable expectations. If I get a job that expects me to reproduce what I’ve done in my portfolio, but do it in an hour ...
so, you see one of my problems.
The other one's just getting an interview :D.

I feel like I’ve been retouching for long enough to know what’s expected, but Lifetouch was such a different ball game. A good idea how long glamour and fashion retouching should take will give me a goal at least. I know that every image is different, but in the ball park of starting with a pretty great shot and taking it to wow ... :dunno

Also, any job advise will be received with thanks as well.

Comments

• Options
    edgeworkedgework Registered Users Posts: 257 Major grins
    edited August 4, 2006
    Hi everyone,

I need some advice on time.