Options

Photo calendar - using uw pics for good cause

SeattleYatesSeattleYates Registered Users Posts: 47 Big grins
edited September 18, 2006 in The Big Picture
I'm fairly new to Smugmug, and as a non-professional photographer, I decided I'd like to do something useful with my photos and website. Using downloadable software from www.digi-labs.net, I've created a 2007 calendar of some of my underwater photos (see nav bar on my website: www.UnderwaterReflections.com) to raise money for the Polycystic Kidney Disease Foundation (www.pkdcure.org).

Next, I "hired" Dgrinner JerryR (Jerry Roek) to do some customization of my site for me (I think he did a great job! :thumb). He even included a simple order form for people to order calendars!

Well, my goal is to raise at least $10,000 (net of production costs) for the PKD Foundation. That's about 900 calendars at $22.95 each.

Here's the cool part! I just "announced" the calendar by e-mail among friends, associates, and some underwater forums I frequent two days ago, and I've already got orders for about 107 calendars, which is about $2,500 worth! I don't know if I'll reach my goal of raising $10,000, but I'm now confident that I can raise "a lot," and it's a great feeling!

I guess my point is that those of you who (like me) don't make a living taking photos, but consider photography a "marvelous obsession," might be able to do some good with your photos by using them to raise money for a cause about which you feel strongly. This is my first attempt at it, and so far, I'm really psyched about the result! :):
Bruce Yates
Seattle, WA

Canon 5D MkII and 1Ds MkII (used mostly underwater), 1D MkIII for topside

www.UnderwaterReflections.com (my Smugmug site, customized by DGrinner jerryr)

If at first you don't succeed, try try again. Then quit. No use being a damn fool about it. WC Fields

Comments

• Options
    SeattleYatesSeattleYates Registered Users Posts: 47 Big grins
    edited September 18, 2006