Options

Studio strobes: spare flash tubes?

photobugphotobug Registered Users Posts: 633 Major grins
edited August 18, 2006 in Accessories
I'm new to studio strobes, just used some for the first time earlier this month. I'm about to order some Flashpoint 620 studio strobes and am trying to decide whether I need to order a spare flash tube ($40, gulp) along with them, so I don't get stuck with a burned-out or broken tube at an inconvenient time (with the nearest replacement sitting at Adorama, 3000 miles away).

So my questions are:
  • How durable are flash tubes in studio strobes? If I carefully set them up, take them down, and store them, how likely is one to burn out/break? That is, at what point a spare would be in order? ...Obviously, if I need both strobes for a critical event, I'll have to have a spare before then, but are they fragile enough that on general principles I should I order a $40 spare now?)
  • Is anyone aware of another source besides Adorama for replacement flash tubes (image attached) for Flashpoint 620 strobes (300 w-s, GN=192)? (I suspect they're somewhat "standard" flash tubes, but of course Adorama won't want to mention alternate sources.)
thanks for any advice!
= Dave
Canon EOS 7D ........ 24-105 f/4L | 50 f/1.4 | 70-200 f/2.8L IS + 1.4x II TC ........ 580EX
Supported by: Benro C-298 Flexpod tripod, MC96 monopod, Induro PHQ1 head
Also play with: studio strobes, umbrellas, softboxes, ...and a partridge in a pear tree...

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,852 moderator
    edited August 17, 2006
    photobug wrote:
    I'm new to studio strobes, just used some for the first time earlier this month. I'm about to order some Flashpoint 620 studio strobes and am trying to decide whether I need to order a spare flash tube ($40, gulp) along with them, so I don't get stuck with a burned-out or broken tube at an inconvenient time (with the nearest replacement sitting at Adorama, 3000 miles away).