Options

iso speed 1600

lukiedukielukiedukie Registered Users Posts: 46 Big grins
edited December 3, 2004 in Technique
I took a few portrait type pictures of a friend of mine using manual settings.
I didn't want to use a flash because there was enough light in the room and I like the warm tones of non-flash photography better. Anyway I din't realize it at the time but my iso was set to 1600. When I transfered the pictures to my pc they look all grainy and I'm very disappointed. Anyway I'm new to photography and am just trying to learn the manual settings instead of shooting automatic all the time. My question is -the less light you have the more iso speed you need but if the pictures come out grainy what is the point of it and what is the proper aplication you would use an iso speed of 1600?

Comments

• Options
    StanStan Registered Users Posts: 1,077 Major grins
    edited December 2, 2004
    It will depend on the camera, but unless that is the image you are looking for, anything over 400 iso on a D Rebel (300D) is not good for enhancing
  • Options
    ginger_55ginger_55 Registered Users Posts: 8,416 Major grins
    edited December 2, 2004
    lukiedukie wrote:
    I took a few portrait type pictures of a friend of mine using manual settings.
    I didn't want to use a flash because there was enough light in the room and I like the warm tones of non-flash photography better. Anyway I din't realize it at the time but my iso was set to 1600. When I transfered the pictures to my pc they look all grainy and I'm very disappointed. Anyway I'm new to photography and am just trying to learn the manual settings instead of shooting automatic all the time. My question is -the less light you have the more iso speed you need but if the pictures come out grainy what is the point of it and what is the proper aplication you would use an iso speed of 1600?