FIBA says "no photos"

uncx1uncx1 Registered Users Posts: 23 Big grins
edited August 30, 2006 in Sports
I recently attened the FIBA world basketball championships in Japan and I was told that I was not allowed to take photos inside. After consulting somebody who worked for FIBA they not only couldn't tell me why this is a rule and went as far to say that I could not even take a photo of MYSELF inside the gym.

Anyone got any ideas why FIBA would have such a rule??? I mean let's be honest, it is not like FIBA has the recognition of FIFA or even the NBA throughout the world so wouldn't any free publicity be good for them? I mean security guards were even yelling at small children asking them to stop taking photos...Maybe I just care more because I am a photographer, but at the same time, if when I was a child (or if my child) was told they couldn't take photos of their favorite player (even during warm ups or after the game) after I had dropped about 50-100 bucks on a ticket, I would def leave with at bad taste in my mouth.

Any ideas on this one?

Comments

• Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited August 29, 2006
    Greed, plain and simple.
    Creator of Dgrin's "Last Photographer Standing" contest
    "Failure is feedback. And feedback is the breakfast of champions." - fortune cookie
  • uncx1uncx1 Registered Users Posts: 23 Big grins
    edited August 29, 2006
    yeah i guess greed.... but let's say I take some photos from my seat and sell some photos, does that really hurt FIBA at all?? do they lose money?? to me I just see it as being helpful to them if photos of FIBA games are being circulated...
  • mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
    edited August 29, 2006
    uncx1 wrote: