Stillness: frozen motion or serene scene?

krismillerlkrismillerl Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited September 4, 2006 in The Dgrin Challenges
Hi all. I'm new to smugmug and even newer to dgrin... first day, in fact. I'm thinking about entering this challenge, but I wanted to get a few opinions on which direction I should go with my entry.

Option 1: "frozen motion". This picture looks like I captured the first leaf of autumn falling. In reality, a spiderweb caught the first leaf of fall falling, and I happened to walk by with my camera. But I think it captures the "frozen motion" aspect of stillness.

Date: 8/29/06
f/3.2 @ 66mm for 1/80s

91574980-M.jpg

Option 2: "a calm, placid, or still subject that conveys the theme." I took this shot earlier this week of a dock that was swept away during a spring flood. But it was a perfectly calm and still morning when I took it, in stark contrast to the storm and flood that ripped the dock from its moorings, and I think the picture captures that.

Date: 8/25/06
f/13 at 28mm for 1/160s

91574635-M.jpg

Which do y'all think?

Comments

• anwmn1anwmn1 Registered Users Posts: 3,469 Major grins
    edited August 30, 2006
    I like the 1st one better you did a great job on catching the leaf. The second is a little confusing with the pilars that are in front of the dock.
    "The Journey of life is as much in oneself as the roads one travels"

Aaron Newman

Facebook: Capturing Light and Emotion
  • krismillerlkrismillerl Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
    edited August 30, 2006