Batch Processing

MyNameIsNeoMyNameIsNeo Registered Users Posts: 13 Big grins
edited September 24, 2006 in Finishing School
So, I have around 1000 images from a recent 1.5 week trip. I shot them at the highest JPEG resolution on my camera (Canon 10D), but now I need to resize them to something like 8x10 @ 100 dpi and save them again in JPEG format with a compression level of around 8 (Photoshop Elements). How can I do this in batch mode? The "Batch" tool has preset dpi options and doen't allow me any control over the JPEG compression level...or does it? I certainly can't figure it out. Help! I'm even willing to switch to something like GIMP if need be. I am a software engineer and could write my own PERL script to do this if there were some tools at CPAN to allow me to resize and save at my desired compression level. Many thanks.
Agent Smith: Goodbye, Mr. Anderson.
Neo: My name...is Neo!

Comments

• jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited September 20, 2006
    File/Export
    So, I have around 1000 images from a recent 1.5 week trip. I shot them at the highest JPEG resolution on my camera (Canon 10D), but now I need to resize them to something like 8x10 @ 100 dpi and save them again in JPEG format with a compression level of around 8 (Photoshop Elements). How can I do this in batch mode? The "Batch" tool has preset dpi options and doen't allow me any control over the JPEG compression level...or does it? I certainly can't figure it out. Help! I'm even willing to switch to something like GIMP if need be. I am a software engineer and could write my own PERL script to do this if there were some tools at CPAN to allow me to resize and save at my desired compression level. Many thanks.
    Select your images in the organizer. Then, choose File/Export in Photoshop Elements. This will let you set the number of pixels in the output files and the JPEG compression level and an output directory.
    --John
    HomepagePopular