Little Jolin

elfving73elfving73 Registered Users Posts: 941 Major grins
edited September 22, 2006 in People
Howdy folks! How are ya? Long time no see, havn't been around in a while. But now I'm back, I'm sorry to say! :D :ivar

Anyway, a colleague to my spouse stoped by today, asking me to snap a few pictures of her daughter Jolin. So, unprepared and a little flimsely, I rigged my gear and went along, snapping a few pics in our livingroom. I am still a rookie using my studio flash kit, it's all about trial and error, but it's so much fun and eventually, I'll get the hang of it. (I hope!) :o)

For these pics, I used two 500W flashes (both on lowest output), one with a 90X90 cm softbox, infront, slightly to her left, and one flash bounced in a silver umbrella at her right side, amlost straight down for some hair light.

Does it "work"? Or does the pics look flat? I have found out that it's rather hard to controll 2 st 500W flashes in a small room, like our livingroom, approx. 5X6 meter. Would I be better of with a smaller softbox? Perhaps it's better to use one flash, and use reflectors instead, what do ya recon?
Oh, and just for the record! I really admire thouse who shoot children all days - geee, it really puts ya to the test! She wasn't still one second! :o)

Want comments on lighting and skin tones in particular, please! :wink

96750347-O.jpg

96753298-O.jpg

96750370-O.jpg

Comments

• USAIRUSAIR Registered Users Posts: 2,646 Major grins
    edited September 20, 2006
    Matty very cute little girl.
    Love #2 good job I think
    And I don't think they look flat...but no expert here

Fred
  • elfving73elfving73 Registered Users Posts: 941 Major grins
    Thanx Fred!
    Just imagine, I rigged my stuff in our ca 5x6 meter livingroom, and in there was me, Jolin, her mother, my spouse, another collegue to my spouse AND my two children Liam and Elliot going berserk! Honestly, as a "shooting situation" it was a nightmare! rolleyes1.gif

Matty
    USAIR wrote: