Playing with depth of field

pjb923pjb923 Registered Users Posts: 87 Big grins
edited September 22, 2006 in Holy Macro
This is my first attempt at posting pictures here. I have always loved the small DOF you get when shooting near 1:1 macros. These were all taken with either my Nikon D100, or D200 and Sigma 50mm and 90mm macro lenses.
89885189-M-1.jpg

96299976-M.jpg

96299977-M.jpg

96299978-M.jpg

96301207-M.jpg

96299981-M.jpg

Comments

• SkippySkippy Registered Users Posts: 12,075 Major grins
    edited September 21, 2006
    Welcome To Dgrin
    pjb923 wrote:
    This is my first attempt at posting pictures here. I have always loved the small DOF you get when shooting near 1:1 macros. These were all taken with either my Nikon D100, or D200 and Sigma 50mm and 90mm macro lenses.

Nice series thumb.gif ...... I have a question.

In your first shot and your last shot there is a distinct line that shows the image within the line appear very dotted and much sharper than the rest of the image, and on either side of the line the image is amazingly soft... maybe thats the wrong word to describe what I see headscratch.gif

It is more noticeable in the first shot of the ladies face, it sort of looks out of place ????

The keyboard shot has a smoother look, but the other images you've posted don't show this line at all, why is that???

Don't get me wrong I like the images you've post, but my eye is drawn to the lines in both those images.

Nice to see another member who is keen on Macro, you'll find quite a few folks in this thread right into Macro, it's nice to learn tips and tricks from everyone........ everyone seems to have their own style, and I bet you do too. :D

Thank you for posting you rather cool Macro shots, and I hope you continue to share with us ....... Skippy (Australia)
    Skippy (Australia) - Moderator of "HOLY MACRO" and "OTHER COOL SHOTS"

ALBUM http://ozzieskip.smugmug.com/