Options

Baptism advice?

NimaiNimai Registered Users Posts: 564 Major grins
edited October 5, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
Three girls are being baptized this Sunday, and one parent has asked me if I would photograph the ceremony. I'm excited about the opportunity, but I have no idea how much to charge them! I've been selling prints of school events though smugmug, and it is resulting in more requests like this. I'm not a photographer by profession, and I have no idea how to charge for engagements like this. I will take some family pictures before hand, and of course, the baptism itself. I'll be shooting RAW with a Canon 30D, and I'll be spending a good bit of time later, in post processing. I plan on giving each parent a CD so that they can make prints at whatever sizes they want.
Can anyone give me any insights into what would be a fair price for this?

Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    johngjohng Registered Users Posts: 1,658 Major grins
    edited October 5, 2006
    Two thoughts come to mind:

1. I typically don't sell image files at all. Here's why: let's say you have a customer like my father (this is true here) - when I give him photos, he'll print them out on his color printer at work - not a photo printer, just a color printer on regular printer paper. Now, imagine what the quality of that photo looks like compared to the photo from a decent print lab. Now, those are family photos, so I don't care. But, if you are picking up business, do you really want your name associated with the hack job someone does with your image? Just a thought. I realize there are plenty of people who sell photo CDs - it's just a reason I choose not to. But for my sports shots (that's the type of phootography I sell) I would never give a customer (other than my newspaper) an image file.