Friday Night Lights - Need Advice

lensbabylensbaby Registered Users Posts: 86 Big grins
edited October 25, 2006 in Sports
I have been shooting on the sidelines for our local High School team. I am not a pro, just a HS parent that loves photography. In my gallery for the night games I have rented a Canon 70-200 2.8L IS lens each Friday. This Friday the 70-200 and 300 mm are not available. So I am left with my 100-400L IS which has been great for day games. My 24-70 2.8 L lens which would be used on a 20D 1.6 crop sensor and my Canon 100 macro 2.8 lens which I would have to manual focus in order to get the shots.

I have used flash even with the 70-200 due to the low light in the end zones.

Here is my plan, let me know what you think.

Use my 100-400L with my 580 EX flash on a bracked on a tripod or monopod. Shoot in manual mode at ISO 1600 1/320 f 5.6.

Use my Better Beamer flash extender if I have my focal length at 300 mm or more.

Or I could just use my 24-70 or 100 mm lens on the sidelines using available light and occcasional flash if needed in the end zones. Since the parents have been ordering 4x6 to 8x10 size prints via Smugmug I could crop the images and still have saleable priints.

Comments and thoughts are appreciated.

I am going to test my 100-400 with flash on the field tonight during my daughters band practice.

Thanks

Comments

• RandySmugMugRandySmugMug Registered Users Posts: 1,651 Major grins
    edited October 17, 2006
    imo 1/320 is too slow to stop action
    open the lens up all the way and go to iso 3200 if you have to to get 1/400

now I'm sure the pros will have better advice but this is what works for me
  • lensbabylensbaby Registered Users Posts: 86 Big grins
    edited October 17, 2006
    Thanks Randy
    imo 1/320 is too slow to stop action
    open the lens up all the way and go to iso 3200 if you have to to get 1/400

now I'm sure the pros will have better advice but this is what works for me