My First 3 Months as a Photojournalist

HarveylevineHarveylevine Registered Users Posts: 325 Major grins
edited October 20, 2006 in People
I’ve been a freelance photographer for three months. After retiring from the US Civil Service in January, I’ve been lucky enough to (finally!) do something I really want to do. In June a new local newspaper came to my mailbox. It contained mostly photographs of local people doing “fun” things. Best of all they invited readers to submit photographs for publication. I submitted this picture of a road being paved in my community.

95860540-M.jpg

After a few emails back and forth the newspaper, Next Door News, agreed to give me a trial as a freelancer. One of my first assignments was to shoot a horse show at a local stable. The picture below was part of my first paid assignment. I now cover between 10 and 15 assignments per month.

95853075-M.jpg

While on assignment photographing people who were stroling along at Great Falls, outside of Washington, DC, I saw three Kayaks descending the falls. I took this picture, which I later submitted to a “Summer Fun” photo contest in the Washington Post. It didn’t win first place (the only prize offered), but they did publish it on the first page of the “Weekend” section.

95852686-M.jpg

I don’t get paid very much, $40 per assignment, but the real reward for me has been the many interesting people I’ve met that I never would have had a chance to meet and talk to otherwise. There were several politicians, among them Jean Cryor, a representative to the Maryland House of Delegates:

95855283-M.jpg

I’ve met architects and many artists including this one:

95860123-M.jpg

and this one:

95849916-M.jpg