My first post here

my3peasmy3peas Registered Users Posts: 19 Big grins
edited October 28, 2006 in People
I'm still new to the DSLR. Point and shoot was extremely easy, but this is so much better!

Anyhow, I gotta start somewhere! Here are some of my first better shots of my kids. I think there were 20 out of 400 that were good :)

C&C welcome--help me learn please!
(click to enlarge)
th_PA070323.jpg

th_PA170762-1.jpg

th_PA170753-1.jpg

th_PA170761-1.jpg

th_PA170720.jpg

th_juliana6.jpg

Comments

• OwenOwen Registered Users Posts: 948 Major grins
    edited October 20, 2006
    I played with the first - I hope you don't mind. A vertical crop always draws more attention to your subject. He was getting lost with the fence and the trees.

Rotated 4' CW (to line up the fence)
    Applied contrast curve
    Sponge tool @ 40% Saturate background/shirt
    Highlight tool @ 15% on catchlight in the eyes
    USM @ 100/.3/0
  • my3peasmy3peas Registered Users Posts: 19 Big grins
    edited October 20, 2006
    Thanks, Owen! I love it! The glimmer in his eyes looks great! And I thought about there being too much background- just didn't know what to do. Thanks for giving me the details, I'm going to have my try at it tomorrow and hope I come up with the same thing. I really need to toy around with PS. It's all coming at me at once right now! I'm in a system overload with all these things I need to learn :)
    edited October 25, 2006
    Anyone else?
    :)
    Thanks!
  • DoctorItDoctorIt Administrators Posts: 11,951 moderator
    edited October 25, 2006
    Hi Clacy - welcome to dgrin and thanks for sharing! wave.gif