Options

How To Maximize Your Findability (Search Engine Stuff)

Comments

• Options
    Tampa-PhotographyTampa-Photography Registered Users Posts: 50 Big grins
    edited February 15, 2009
    Images in Google Search Results
    Hello,

I am new to D-Grin, but I have one foot in the photography business (my wife and I own Simple Treasures Photography in Tampa Bay FL, and I also own a search engine optimization company called Tampa Bay Search.

I'm honestly not trying to plug my business(es) - just wanted to explain where I'm coming from.

Here are my thoughts (from an SEO perspective) on the "How do I get my images to show up in Google search results?" question that seems to be so prevalent throughout this thread:

Google looks for relevance when it returns search results. Just because you name a photo red-roses.jpg does not mean it will be returned in the search results for "red roses", regardless of where or how the image is hosted.

You have to think of the images in Google's search results like web pages. Just because I have a website named red-roses.com does not mean it will be indexed by Google or returned in a search for "red roses".

However, if red-roses.com is a site with lots of relevant pages and content related to red roses, and I have a few hundred links from relevant and authoritative web pages pointing at my site with "red roses" in the anchor text, it probably would be indexed and rank fairly well in the search results.

I think images work the same way. Thus if you have a "trademark" image - one that you want to be returned in the Google search results when someone searches for a particular keyword phrase - I would recommend the following: