Options

Yet another 'unique pricing situatuion'

BendrBendr Registered Users Posts: 665 Major grins
edited October 25, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
Well, I'm just starting out and I got my first 'gig'. I took photos of a 5k run(Dogs and people :) ) the other day, I have about 530 photos and 2.8 gigabytes.

The guy who was running the event(I personally know him)used to work with another race management company, has just broken off and is starting up his own race management company. Anyway at the event, he was mentioning to me that he would like to get a cd with all of the photos, and now I've got an email asking me how much it would cost to get a cd with all of the photos on it.

So, this is the "tough pricing situation" I don't even know a ballpark figure. I don't want to go to high, because I would like to stay open as an option for future events plus I know him. If I went by the online price of individual downloads, we would be talking in the thousands of dollars. Obviously that seems quite a bit on the high side.

I was thinking I should ask him what he was hoping to do with them, as in advertisement for his company, or personal use?

Basically I want everyone to come away happy :) Can anyone help me?

Comments

• Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited October 24, 2006
    Do what feels right to you....You have 500+ pics...howmany are REALLY good....are they good enough for advertising....were they shot in jpg or raw (this to me would make a huge difference.).....if jpg what quality (high or med resolution)(again this for me would be another decideing factor).....

How many hours of post processing have you put into this? What is your time worth....

Have you ever shot a wedding or anything of this type for pay??? here is how I did things....