To Nikon or Not to

maggyparkermaggyparker Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited November 9, 2006 in Cameras
I am new to this field can anyone and I am a modeling photographer. tell that substituting Nikon Lenses (Yuck Costly~!) with Sigma or Tamron will work good. Or I am going to loose quality. I have a set old Nikon 200mm and 50 to 70 mm lens. Secondly in my opinion prime lenses deliver much better quality but Yuck~again they are costlier……….

http:www.modelcruz.com

my blog: femalemodelagncy.blogspot.com

Comments

• HarrybHarryb Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 22,708 Major grins
    edited November 9, 2006
    I am new to this field can anyone and I am a modeling photographer. tell that substituting Nikon Lenses (Yuck Costly~!) with Sigma or Tamron will work good. Or I am going to loose quality. I have a set old Nikon 200mm and 50 to 70 mm lens. Secondly in my opinion prime lenses deliver much better quality but Yuck~again they are costlier……….

If you are looking at it solely from a quality viewpoint then Nikon lenses win most comparisons. Npw if you are looking at it from a "bang for the buck" viewpoint then that changes the picture. Sigma. Tokina and Tamron lenses will get you excellent results. The biggest difference will be in build, focusing speed (in some cases), and handling. Nikon lenses also will hold their value better.

I prefer Nikon lenses but when money was more of an issue for me I got good results with third party lenses.
    Harry
    http://behret.smugmug.com/ NANPA member
    How many photographers does it take to change a light bulb? 50. One to change the bulb, and forty-nine to say, "I could have done that better!"
  • claudermilkclaudermilk Registered Users Posts: 2,756 Major grins
    edited November 9, 2006