Options

Making a business out of nothing

MTN-FreeriderMTN-Freerider Registered Users Posts: 52 Big grins
edited November 11, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
So, I'm a 23 year old bicycle mechanic, just out of college, I studied business but after a bad experience in the corporate world I have no interested in pursuing such a career.

I took a few photography classes in college, and I have been taking pictures for fun for a while now.

I've been thinking about opening up a little photography business on the side.

Arguably my my business has already started. I am currently negotiating a contract to cover a couple series of mountain bike races for a small publication. Up to this point the idea was to do that for fun. I was also thinking of shooting other similar events and submiting editorial photos for other larger publications.

Now I'm sure that you know as well as I do that I will never be able to come close to making a living doing this type of freelance work. I figure it will ammount to little more than profitable hobby.

Anyway, I was thinking about doing some more traditional photography work, like weddings, senior pictures, etc.

My plan up to this point is to spend the next few months collecting the basic photography gear that I will need to get started, and then doing whatever odds and ends I can to gain experience, such as volunteering as a lighting assistant for little or no pay.

When spring rolls around I plan to promote myself as a "discount photographer" using whatever cheap, yet effective media I can find; search engines, occasional newspaper ads, leaflets, posters, anything I can think of. In addition to that I see ads on sites like craigs list for people looking for amature wedding photographers, real estate photographers etc. quite often.