Options

A question you probably get a lot

lifesdisciplelifesdisciple Registered Users Posts: 231 Major grins
edited November 21, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
Hello Andy. My name is Michael and I have been shooting for about 10 years now. My question is, how do you become a pro or at least get some paid jobs. Don't get me wrong. I absolutely love photography and will continue to take pictures regardless if I am paid to or profit from my work. It's just I've submitted photos to stock art companies, magazines, newspapers, contests, you name it. I very rarely get bites. I've hosted a few of my own galleries and usually just break even. I don't feel right charging a lot for my work. I just want people to enjoy it. It just seems that it's more of who you know than what your photos look like. IMO anyways. The few jobs I do get a call on usually shy away due to the fact that I am heavily tattooed. I really didn't think this would be an issue since photos speak for themselves. I don't know, now I am rambling on. I just read the why you were here thread and feel a connection. I would love to have a career in the field instead of just dreaming about one. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks for your time. Michael

Michael - Life's Disciple

"You must be the change you wish to see in the world." - Gandhi

www.lifesdisciple.com

Comments

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited November 16, 2006