Lens Opinion Please

PalusMusPalusMus Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited December 7, 2006 in Cameras
I have a Canon 20D and mostly use an EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM lens. Here in S.E. Alaska we have alot of low light conditions so I'm thinking of buying a EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM. Is this a wise choice ?
Here's the type of photos I usually take www.palusmus.smugmug.com .
Opinions please

Comments

• DJ-S1DJ-S1 Registered Users Posts: 2,303 Major grins
    edited November 27, 2006
    Well I'm no expert, but I guess it depends a lot on $$. You have some very nice images online. They are a big range, some wide angle and some tele. I don't think there will be one lens to do both extremes with high quality.

I have the 20D also. My walkaround lens is a Tamron 28-75 f2/8; it's pretty high quality, especially for the money. My sports (and limited wildlife) lens is a Canon 70-200 f/4L (non-IS). These make a decent value-for-the-money kit in my opinion.

If I had the cash I would buy the 24-105 f/4L IS as my walkaround lens, and the 70-200 f/2.8 IS. But that's a pipe dream for me!

I guess it's all in what you shoot, and what your budget is.
  • SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
    edited November 27, 2006
    if you're using a 28-300 and like shooting somewhere in that range then I would look at the ef 70-200 f2.8L-just a great lens-

and the 24-70 f2.8L is just as great (in my mind)-

you buy ef-s and you ever move up to, say, the 5d, that ef-s lens stays behind-
  • Tee WhyTee Why Registered Users Posts: 2,390 Major grins
    edited November 29, 2006
    It's a pretty expensive lens but has excellent to very good optics, it's fast, and has IS. Consider Tamron 17-50 and Sigma 18-50 as other possible cheaper alternatives. As for the range, it's great for "walking around."
  • SteveLajoieSteveLajoie Registered Users Posts: 17 Big grins
    edited December 7, 2006
    Worth its weight in Gold!