After some lighting advice

gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
edited December 7, 2006 in Technique
Ok..i always thought i would never be bitten with this studio bug but it feels like i cant fight it any longer.

Im wishing to organise some simple lighting & was wondering which would be a better idea..2 lights with some diffusers in front of them or 2 lights aimed back into a pair of umbrellas ?

So basically diffused light or reflected light ? Which is a better way to go for a small set up ?

Comments

• DavidTODavidTO Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited December 1, 2006
    Gus, I'm no expert, and can't answer your questions, but I did want to make sure that you'd seen this.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited December 1, 2006
    DavidTO wrote:
    Gus, I'm no expert, and can't answer your questions, but I did want to make sure that you'd seen this.
    Yeah i had seen that but im not about to buy a transmitter. Just after advice on which is better for simple portrait stuff...diffused or reflective.
  • AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited December 1, 2006
    gus wrote:
    Yeah i had seen that but im not about to buy a transmitter. Just after advice on which is better for simple portrait stuff...diffused or reflective.
    http://www.moonriverphotography.com/gallery/730399/1/33796523/Large

for easy portable, I use a 580ex and 2 420exs. No transmitters.
  • JimWJimW Registered Users Posts: 333 Major grins
    edited December 1, 2006
    Gus, it kind of depends on your personal taste and on who and what you're shooting; sultry boudoir shots, high school seniors, glamour portrait or a head shot of the Pope? Can you describe the goal?