Strobes? or Flash? Both?

PurkhiserPurkhiser Registered Users Posts: 114 Major grins
edited December 5, 2006 in People
Hello! I have looked through the threads - found one thread that was about strobes, but I have some questions. I am an amateur photographer, but have lots of people asking me to take their photos, so I now have a website and prices (www.purkhiserphotography.com) . I currently use a canon 430 on my rebel, and bounce it off of my white ceiling. I also have a flip-it diffuser attached to my 430 - this is the same as a white business card angled toward the subject - I use this for fill-flash. My camera pretty much stays on manual with my flash at 1/1 so I can get enough light - I don't shoot at night or use household lights, and I leave my window blinds up.

I'm looking for something better. I want something that gives my photos pop! I seem to have the most trouble with skin-tones and having to spend hours afterwards editing. Also, it seems as if my backdrops could use more - expecially the white ones.

What kind of strobes or lighting do you recommend at a resonable price? Do the strobes need to have modeling lamps, if not, how do I see at night in my little room. If I turn on standard lights, the camera will pick up on that and I will have too much orange/yellow.

I just cannot seem to get that soft face, but crisp, and soft background. That gorgeous studio look! I want my customers and family to have a good quality photos!

I had so much wonderful help with the html website stuff and I appreciate it! :clap

Any suggestions about the lighting issue? I'm confused :scratch but open to pretty much anything - and I am fairly new to this photography stuff! Direct me in the right way!

Carrie

Comments

• frgfrg Registered Users Posts: 583 Major grins
    edited December 5, 2006
  • Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited December 5, 2006
    Carrie,