Coming to the Digital Side

Deke in AkDeke in Ak Registered Users Posts: 14 Big grins
edited December 11, 2006 in Cameras
I have decided to make the switch to digital. Being an absolute n00b in the digital world, I am wondering if I am making a good choice in a camera system.

I'm looking pretty seriously at the Olympus E330. I've done a bit of reading on the camera and tried to search this forum for information.

Is anyone using this camera regularly? Anything weird I need to know before I buy one? I really like the ability to view the image on the lcd screen as I travel by motorcycle and want to be able to compose and take pictures without removing my helmet. Is this a pro level camera? Is it tough enough to carry on a motorcycle (with reasonable care)?

I've been using Nikon film gear for at least 15 years, and yet given the excellent quality of Nikon gear I am thinking the Olympus system is what I am going to try for my first digslr.

Could some of you with "miles" on the Olympus gear givve me some feedback?

Thanks Much, Dennis

Comments

• wolfwoodswolfwoods Registered Users Posts: 16 Big grins
    edited December 5, 2006
    My first digital camera was an Oly...
    I had shot Nikon film since the 60's, but my first foray into digital was an Oly P&S. It gave me a chance to try digital imaging, and very clearly told me I needed an SLR for the kind of photography I was doing. Since I already had the the Nikon lenses, I bought a Nikon D2H, a D70, and now a D200. Notice - I don't have have any experience with the particular camera you are looking at, but I do feel some obligation to respond to some of your questions.