#79 - Stood Up

QuitaritaQuitarita Registered Users Posts: 126 Major grins
edited December 14, 2006 in The Dgrin Challenges
"I guess she's not showing up..."
Waiting for someone when you've made a special meal is no fun.

114948763-L.jpg

Would love to hear people's comments on this shot. I'm new to dgrin (and LOVE it) and new to photography so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Any advice on how to avoid strange reflections of the flames from appearing?

FYI - I've done super basic bw conversion and a tiny bit of cropping.

http://rosaura.smugmug.com/photos/newexif.mg?ImageID=114948763

Gracias,

Comments

• jweathersonjweatherson Registered Users Posts: 81 Big grins
    edited December 5, 2006
    VERY VERY cool idea! I like that thumb.gif
    He really does look dissapointed.
    -James Weatherson

http://brit.smugmug.com
  • FlyingginaFlyinggina Registered Users Posts: 2,639 Major grins
    edited December 5, 2006
    Yesthumb.gif I like this shot. The message and the candlelight!

Virginia

Email
  • RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,954 moderator
    edited December 5, 2006
    This is a great idea, but if you could reshoot, there are a few things you might do to improve it. I would like to see more of the place setting of the missing person to make it clearer that nobody is there. Putting some red wine in his cup while leaving the other one empty would also help deliver the message. I would like to see his face in sharper focus. Regarding the reflections, you can sometimes get rid of them by altering your shooting angle slightly or repositioning the candles. Also, make sure you do not have any filters on your lens.
  • kmhkmh Registered Users Posts: 93 Big grins
    edited December 5, 2006
    Nice shot -- great idea. -Kate
  • kjskjs Registered Users Posts: 48 Big grins
    edited December 5, 2006