I've been avoiding the manual mode of my
camera, but some ppl suggest that m mode
is a very good idea for ice hockey because
the lighting stays constant.

I'd like to know what benefits M has over
Av/Tv for my shoot tomorrow. Is there a
trick to get an idea for good exposure
values without alot of trial and error
(like meter of the players jerseys or sth?!).

Also I'd like to know where it's best to stand
(where most action happens) with my zoom range.

Acess is very good in the arena, here are a few overview shots:
87.jpg
110.jpg

I've packed my gloves researched hockey rules
and threads and would apreciate any further
advices you sports shooters can give me!

I hope this shoot isn't going to be a total newbie disaster.
“To consult the rules of composition before making a picture is a little like consulting the law of gravitation before going for a walk.”
― Edward Weston

Comments

• UT ScottUT Scott Registered Users Posts: 175 Major grins
    edited December 6, 2006
    I've never shot hockey but I watch a lot. I'd say the best place to be would be right by the net on the side. You should be able to zoom in close enough to get some good shots. Try getting into a spot where you can shoot the player head on taking a shot.

About M mode over Av and Tv, if you're in M then you know what the exposure will be once you get it set right. If you're in Av or Tv and something weird happens and the the camera thinks it needs to slow down or speed up the shutter then you will miss the exposure on the shot. Since the lighting is going to be the same then just find the settings that work and keep them there. Most of all, have fun! wings.gif