Grey market

scottVscottV Registered Users Posts: 354 Major grins
edited December 13, 2006 in Cameras
What is everyones opinion on buying a grey market camera? If you could get a 5D body for around $1800 or a 30D for $1000 would you do it? Is the lack of warranty the only disadvantage, or are there others?
:scratch
thanks

Comments

• claudermilkclaudermilk Registered Users Posts: 2,756 Major grins
    edited December 8, 2006
    AFAIK the warranty is the only difference & it's basically because the vendor imported the camera instead of the manufacturer's importer (e.g., a grey market 5D at B&H would be imported from Japan by B&H instead of B&H buying it from Canon's US distributor). From what I've read Canon typically still honors the warranty anyway. Though I have no direct experience with that myself, so take it with a grain of salt. :)
  • Red BullRed Bull Registered Users Posts: 719 Major grins
    edited December 9, 2006
    A 5D for only $1800? Dang, where can I get one of those?!eek7.gif
    -Steven

http://redbull.smugmug.com

"Money can't buy happiness...But it can buy expensive posessions that make other people envious, and that feels just as good.":D

Canon 20D, Canon 50 1.8 II, Canon 70-200 f/4L, Canon 17-40 f/4 L, Canon 100mm 2.8 Macro, Canon 430ex.
  • illuminati919illuminati919 Registered Users Posts: 713 Major grins
    edited December 9, 2006
    $1800 what :jawdrop ?
    ~~~www.markoknezevic.com~~~

Setup: One camera, one lens, and one roll of film.
  • claudermilkclaudermilk Registered Users Posts: 2,756 Major grins
    edited December 11, 2006
    Huh, missed the pricing mentioned. I have a suspicion that price is sourced from one of the NJ scam places we always warn people against.
  • TristanPTristanP Registered Users Posts: 1,107 Major grins
    edited December 13, 2006
    B&H has the 30d (US warranty) for $1070 after Canon's rebate. I'd pony up the extra $70 for piece of mind.
    panekfamily.smugmug.com (personal)