Focus issue-Canon rebelxt

magicpicmagicpic Registered Users Posts: 527 Major grins
edited December 13, 2006 in Cameras
Ok..I am a beginner photographer and I have a canon rebelxt. For some reason I have a hard time focusing. I talked to my photographer teacher and he says that I am doing everything right. I even got new eye glasses thinking that it was my eyes. In my class there were about three other people having the same problem. So the question is..Is it the person taking the picture or is it the canon rebelxt?......I hope to hear from other canon rebel xt folks...magic widget:scratch
(2) Canon 20d, (1) canon 30d, 70-200is 2.8, tamron 17-50,canon 50mm 1.4
http://www.photographybywidget.com

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited December 12, 2006
    Hi magicpic,

How about some example shots that are out of focus? Link them here for us, the medium or large size please.
  • marlinspikemarlinspike Registered Users Posts: 2,095 Major grins
    edited December 12, 2006
    You need to do test shots, but it certainly isn't unheard of. Everything is well once sent to Canon Factory Service...but the QC from the factory has been lacking in my experience.
  • cmasoncmason Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited December 12, 2006
    And please let us know what shooting modes you are using, especially what focus mode you have engaged.

When I first went to my RebelXT, I found that in auto modes and in AI modes, the camera choose focus pts that were, at the time, unpredicatable, resulting in my shots being focused on the wrong subject. Later, once I understood how these features work, I got it.

I use only the 'creative zone' (Av mostly) and "one shot" focus mode, and ensure that the focus pt is on my subject of choice.