Questions from a biologist about macro lenses

JoemessJoemess Registered Users Posts: 112 Major grins
edited January 6, 2007 in Cameras
Hello folks, Long time lurker here.

I am a biologist whose focus in on botany. I often find myself in the field taking numerous shots of various flowers rather than collecting voucher specimens. I am looking for advice on lenses that will aid in this. My camera is a Canon Digital rebel (soon to be upgraded to a 30D) and the lens I use most often in a Quantaray 28-200 1:3.8-5.6 Zoom lens. While I do get good shots, I think the quality can be improved with a dedicated lens. So far I have been considering something along the lines of:

Canon Normal EF-S 60mm f/2.8 USM Macro Autofocus

Now, I am not locked in on this one lens so if there are suggestions in other directions I am open to them. The name on the lens is not as important as the quality it provides. I would like to stay in the under 500 range...

It needs to be mentioned that often the composition of the photo is not nearly as important as the ability to capture details of the floral structure. (but I still like to take good pictures) I will also be the first to admit that I am somewhat lacking in core knowledge about photography. I generally put the camera in Auto and fire away. (I need to work on this but time.... well time is precious)

Thanks, Andrew

To give you an idea of the photos I take, here is a small sampling. These were all taken freehand without a tripod. This season I have invested in a quality tripod.

99247058-M.jpg

77727741-M.jpg

61929068-M.jpg
“Tug at a single thing in nature, and you will find it connected to the universe.
[John Muir]

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,078 moderator
    edited January 4, 2007
    Thanks for de-lurking yourself, and welcome to Digital Grin.