Options

Color spaces and calibrations

harleysharleys Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited January 11, 2007 in Digital Darkroom
I am just learning post production and want to start out on the right foot. I am shooting a D200, editing on a viewsonic VP930b (on a windows computer), and printing on an Epson 2200 (or via smugmugs printers). I just purchased a Spyder2Pro calibrator and am wondering what standard to calibrate to, What colorspace to use in my camera, on my computer, In Photoshop and on the printer? Should I let PS or the printer manage color?

I am currently shooting RAW and converting with Nikon's Capture software. I intend on upgrading to CS2 soon (from ver6.0)

I am an ambitious amature and hope too be able to view accurately what the camera is tking and print what I am viewing.

I know this is a lot of question and that there are many,many variables that could change suggestions but am looking for something that will work the majority of the time and allow me to be somewhat successful right away and be able to learn from there.

The picture below was taken in my front yard in the middle of Kansas, while playing around with depth of field, slow shutter speeds and my 70-200VR.

Thanks
Gary

121084977-M.jpg

Comments

• Options
    David_S85David_S85 Administrators Posts: 13,199 moderator
    edited January 5, 2007
    harleys, I can't see your picture. Do you have external links turned on in your SM gallery?
    My Smugmug
    "You miss 100% of the shots you don't take" - Wayne Gretzky
  • Options
    edited January 6, 2007
    David_S85 wrote:
    harleys, I can't see your picture. Do you have external links turned on in your SM gallery?
    Sorry, since it came up when I looked at it I assumed that I did. Should work now.
  • Options
    JBurtJBurt Registered Users Posts: 175 Major grins
    edited January 6, 2007
    harleys wrote:
    Sorry, since it came up when I looked at it I assumed that I did. Should work now.