pakrupakru Registered Users Posts: 12 Big grins
edited January 14, 2007 in Technique

Comments

• SkippySkippy Registered Users Posts: 12,075 Major grins
    edited January 7, 2007
    pakru wrote:
    Comments welcome :D

http://sripri.smugmug.com

Hi Pakru, I am no expert at B&W by any means, so I hope someone who knows more about reply's to your post.

The image you've posted looks more grey tones than Black and White, it also looks dull rather than crisp and sharp looking. headscratch.gif

Can you post the colour image you were using to attempt your B&W conversion ???? ..... I'm sure someone can help you out ........ Skippy :D
    Skippy (Australia) - Moderator of "HOLY MACRO" and "OTHER COOL SHOTS"

ALBUM http://ozzieskip.smugmug.com/

:skippy Everyone has the right to be stupid, but some people just abuse the privilege :dgrin
  • claudermilkclaudermilk Registered Users Posts: 2,756 Major grins
    edited January 8, 2007
    I think it's a good start. You got one of the more difficult parts: the sky. There's cloud detail & the sky itself didn't blow to white.

However, like Skippy, I'd like to see more contrast. IMHO, you need to concentrate on boosing contrast in the tree to help it pop more.
  • Aaron BernardAaron Bernard Registered Users Posts: 169 Major grins
    edited January 9, 2007
    Like was said, it needs more definition and contrast:

I would do two passes on it, one with Levels and one with Curves.

Open your Levels tool and make sure your ranges for dark and light are correct (pull the sliders on each side to the edge of the histogram).

Next open curves. Just to give you an idea of how this works, grab the center of the curve line and push it up and to the left then grab the bottome 1/4 of the line and pull it down and to the right. This will boost overall contrast. This is very general but once you try it you will get the idea.

The Unsharp Mask can be used to pop B&W shots also if you dont over do it. (try 60% & 5-20)