Candid shots policy

stephenbrunostephenbruno Registered Users Posts: 256 Major grins
edited January 16, 2007 in People
I have candid shots of people and I am uncertain of my rights in posting them...I believe that as long as they are in public places I can, and I thought as long as they were not for sale? Does this mean I must remove them since they all can be purchased at SmugMug, or do you recommend a statement in the gallery description? Any other suggestions? I wonder what others do.

Comments

• SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
    edited January 9, 2007
    I don't know what is right regarding candids, but you can say no to having them available for printing when the pics are on smugmug-

click on customize at the gallery and it's at or near the bottom of the page-
  • LuckyBobLuckyBob Registered Users Posts: 273 Major grins
    edited January 9, 2007
    Not that I'm an expert or anything but I do carry a printout of this in my camera bag at all times: The Photographer’s Right
    LuckyBobGallery"You are correct, sir!"
  • surlysurly Registered Users Posts: 77 Big grins
    edited January 10, 2007
    commercial
    I think for art prints it is legal
    I think for advertising you might have a problem

I am not a lawer
  • stephenbrunostephenbruno Registered Users Posts: 256 Major grins
    edited January 14, 2007
    thank you all
    i want to thank everyone...i posted the photos of faces in a Candid gallery where the photographs can not be purchased.

quote=surly]I think for art prints it is legal
    I think for advertising you might have a problem

I am not a lawer[/quote]
  • cloveclove Registered Users Posts: 20 Big grins
    edited January 14, 2007