Lenses for Canon AE-1

purifiedpurified Registered Users Posts: 173 Major grins
edited January 22, 2007 in Cameras
I have a mint condition Manual Canon AE-1 from 1976. I'm using it for my photography class (we are only using film cameras). I'm going to be honest here and say I am brand new to film cameras. I am wondering if Canon lenses made for their newer film cameras (Rebel XT, etc.) fit on this 30 year old model.

Also, I do have three very nice lenses for the AE-1. I have a Vivitar 70-210mm Macro Zoom, which was made in 1975! Will newer Vivitar lenses fit on the AE-1?

And... because I want to buy an IR filter, can I assume that Vivitar filters will fit their older lens models?

I'm sorry to ask so many questions. All help will be appreciated! Thank you!
Purified Photography
Updated June 5 2007

-Kelly

Comments

• gluwatergluwater Registered Users Posts: 3,599 Major grins
    edited January 19, 2007
    The AE-1 is an FD mount camera so you cannot use the current EF or EF-S lenses. You may be able to use the EF and EF-S lenses with an adapter but I don't know. Here is a link to Canons page on the AE-1 if you have any other questions about it. Canon Camera Museum AE-1

The filter size should be on the lens itself. The filters will work with all cameras as long as the filter is the correct size. Except for Polerizers, you use Circular polerizers for digital and Linear polerizers for Film. If you are looking for an IR filter I have one I do not use. It is a Cokin P mount. If you would like it for a well under new price but in Brand new condition send me a PM and I can give you more info on it. You may want to check if you can use IR filters for film, I always thought you had to buy B&W IR film. Maybe Ziggy will chime in, I'll bet he would know.
    Nick
    SmugMug Technical Account Manager
    Travel = good. Woo, shooting!
    nickwphoto
  • purifiedpurified Registered Users Posts: 173 Major grins
    edited January 19, 2007
    gluwater wrote: