Need to resize-- how much??

DittomarksDittomarks Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
edited January 23, 2007 in Finishing School
Hi all! I took pics for family at a wedding reception last weekend and am working on finishing the pictures. I am new to the Rebel XTi that I used, and the pictures are big (1.86 MB). I'm making a CD (might end up being a DVD at this rate) for the bride and groom with the pictures. I need to resize them not only for file storage but for uploading to Sams Club where I make my prints.

What size do you recommend? I will be keeping the originals at full size.

Thanks in advance!!

Comments

• jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited January 20, 2007
    Some ideas
    Dittomarks wrote:
    Hi all! I took pics for family at a wedding reception last weekend and am working on finishing the pictures. I am new to the Rebel XTi that I used, and the pictures are big (1.86 MB). I'm making a CD (might end up being a DVD at this rate) for the bride and groom with the pictures. I need to resize them not only for file storage but for uploading to Sams Club where I make my prints.

Thanks in advance!!

It all depends on what the pictures on the CD are for.

For onscreen presentation on a modern screen size, 800 pixels high (for either landscape or portrait orientation photos is often a good size to view). If you know they have a bigger screen or smaller screen than that, you can adjust slightly from there. You can get away with a JPEG quality level at around 6 for onscreen display.