Options

Picture Window

xrisxris Registered Users Posts: 546 Major grins
edited December 23, 2007 in Finishing School
Is anyone familiar with Picture Window image editing software from Digital Light& Color? I've been using it for a short while and find that, while it certainly ain't pretty, like PhotoShop, it's very full featured, fast AND cheap. Unique features include native support for raw files and totally non-destructive editing. But the best part? All the features and tools are totally integrated! All in one place!!

Looks like a king in pauper's clothing to me. But I'm no expert, so I'd very much like to 'hear' from those-in-the-know.
X www.thepicturetaker.ca

Comments

• Options
    ifocusifocus Registered Users Posts: 161 Major grins
    edited December 22, 2007
    Picture Window 4 ... in my opinion
    I introduced picture window 4 as part of my workflow for the las 6 weeks. I first installed the evaluation version and guess what? I had to purchase it as I became addicted. Why would you ask? Well, here are some of the reasons...

1. Ease of use.

Are you crazy? At first, you will not find your familiar layers, tools and so on like CS3 or PSP and the like. I would compare it to the "HP calculator" version of image editing. Instead of typing 2+2=4; you re-learn to type 2 "enter" 2 "+" !!! Once you get the hang of it, Picture Window workflow is really easy ... and clever trust me. More importantly, all the menus, icons are on a single window, no fooling around, everything is accessible is one click.

2. Controls and image quality