Film gurus: Need some advice.

raceMpower95raceMpower95 Registered Users Posts: 24 Big grins
edited February 15, 2007 in Technique
Ok, I know that this forum is primarily for digital photography, but I know a lot people on here know their film stuff, too. I'd ask around at film-specific forums, but I am partial to dgrin and figured I'd try here first.

My question is a bit broad, so any advice would be helpful. I am taking a B&W film photography class this semester since it is required for my photography minor. I have been shooting mostly color and digital for the past 4-5 years, and forget most of the tricks I had picked up for B&W film. I am mostly looking for any tips or tricks all you pros may have for boosting contrast and clarity. I am shooting with my Canon Elan 7e with a Sigma 28-70 F2.8 AF. I will be developing all of my work for class in the darkroom, as well as negative-scanning some for post-processing in CS2 (just for archiving and personal use, not so much for class).

I shot a lot of film stuff back in high school, but I wasn't half the photographer that I am now, and I didn't know most of what I do now. I would really like to get some nice results out of this, since I won't have the oppurtunity to do real darkroom work once this class is over. Anyway, I thank you in advance for any advice, tips, or tricks you might have.
Canon EOS 40D w/BG-E2 vertical grip
Canon EOS 20D w/BG-E3 vertical grip
Tokina AF 10-17mm f/3.5-4.5 AT-X DX
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4.0
L
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8
Canon EF 70-200 f/4.0
L
Canon 580 EX II
Alien Bee Studio Strobes w/ Cybersync Triggers + VII Powerpack

Comments

• TanukiTanuki Registered Users Posts: 184 Major grins
    edited January 26, 2007
    Ok, I know that this forum is primarily for digital photography, but I know a lot people on here know their film stuff, too. I'd ask around at film-specific forums, but I am partial to dgrin and figured I'd try here first.