New professional needs critique and advice?!

Greg NealGreg Neal Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited February 2, 2005 in Mind Your Own Business
Hello. My name is Gregory Neal, I am fairly new to the SmugMug community, and I need your critique and advice. I have so far created two galleries on the 'Mug, with more to load in the coming weeks. However, after 2-3 months on the site, I have NO sales even though I have had large volume of visits. If you can take the time, perhaps you could visit my galleries at http://GregNealPhotography.SmugMug.com and "critique" either my work and/or the presentation/pricing/technical aspects; please tell me positive or negative, good or bad --- I am trying to make a career of photography and develop myself and my images and create unique prints that can hopefully be used in a variety of markets, including gallery showings, CD artwork, upscale retail, etc. I am still shooting film, but hope to "go digital" in the near future, more for the convenience and the better end result regarding better resolution and other tech aspects.

Thank you for anything you can offer, and I appreciate your sincere attention and reply.

Gregory Neal
Charlotte NC

Comments

• Michiel de BriederMichiel de Brieder Registered Users Posts: 864 Major grins
    edited January 15, 2005
    Gregory,

firstly, what I will be saying will be from my own point of view. I've been photographing for about 2,5 years now, so I don't have 25 years of experience. Note: this will be purely commenting from my taste.

Now, to the gallery. The work looks nice. But most shots, IMHO, lack the spirit for me to buy any. Many shots are quite straightforward.... I admire your aspiration to make a career of photography, but to be very blunt right now, the work is not unique...
    This is purely my opinion...
    On the technical side of the presentation:
    1. Show your prices. I couldn't see any prices and formats that can be ordered to accompany the photos.