What kind of lens is that?

PrezwoodzPrezwoodz Registered Users Posts: 1,147 Major grins
edited February 9, 2007 in Cameras
So I bought my first DSLR from Charlemange here on the site and while I wait for it to show I decided to check out my lens options! Okay now my question is what do all the letters mean?

IF , IS , EF, ect...

Also I notice the second numbers such as /1.8 (which im guessing is apature) seem to make a cheaper lens if it is higher. How much of a difference does it really make?

ya....im a total noob.

Comments

• David_S85David_S85 Administrators Posts: 13,237 moderator
    edited February 8, 2007
    Ahem, cough... It would help to know the lens brand.
    My Smugmug
    "You miss 100% of the shots you don't take" - Wayne Gretzky
  • 20DNoob20DNoob Registered Users Posts: 318 Major grins
    edited February 8, 2007
    Well you bought the 20D so here goes.

IF= Internal focusing.

IS=Image stabilizer.

EF=What mount the lens/camera body is.

Your right about the 1.8 being the aperture and generally speaking the bigger the number cheaper the price. That being the front element gets much bigger the lower the number having to allow more light in. Bigger better grade glass equals more money.

Take the 50mm versions for example.

50mm 1.8= $79.95(B&H)

50mm 1.4= $309.95(B&H)

50mm 1.2= $1,599(B&H)

50mm 1.0= $3,959(used in EX condition@KEH)

The smaller the number, the greater the depth of field(DOF) also referred to as bokeh(DOF/bokeh=background blur).

Click here for examples of the 50mm 1.4 shooting the same scene but changing apertures(from f/1.4 to f/8) to show the effect. Not my stuff, just something I found for demonstration purposes.

I hope this helps out a little, if I'm wrong here about anything I hope others here will chime in to correct me. Lol, it's late and I haven't been sleeping much lately.:crazy

Good luck.
    Christian.

5D2/1D MkII N/40D and a couple bits of glass.