Options

From hobby to professional?

pahlpahl Registered Users Posts: 107 Major grins
edited February 14, 2007 in Mind Your Own Business
How many of you have taken you photography hobby and turned it into a full time profession?

I would love to hear your story on how you did it.

How did you start out in photography?
What were you doing before you turn your hobby into a full time job?

Thanks..
http://pahl.smugmug.com

Pentax istDL
50mm-f/1.4
10-17mm fish-eye
18-55mm kit lens
Sigma EF-500 DG Super Flash[FONT=Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif][/FONT]

Comments

• Options
    3rdPlanetPhotography3rdPlanetPhotography Banned Posts: 920 Major grins
    edited February 8, 2007
    What a great question!

Well I'm in transition currently. Been a hobby of mine for over 15 years. As a software developer I'm just sick and tired of the same old programming code for the past 13 years and I want to do what I love best.

I was out of photography for a long time while in the USAF but about 2 years ago I decided on a DSLR. Of course I went with the 20d and now the 30d but basically it was a decision I had to make. I had to know that I was going to spend a LOT of money over the first couple of years to really get it going. Getting the word out is not cheap by any means. I'm now in month 13 and I must say that all is going okay. I'm not close to matching my IT salary but in time I think I will get there.

It is a very tough thing to transition. Basically sometimes I'm working 2 full time jobs. As a single parent (with girlfriend) I'm pretty busy as well. It's a balancing act that I couldn't have imagined. But being online with the great community of DGrin and SmugMug I must say that my photography has gotten better over the past year by 10 fold.